The New Forest Cycling Club

Whitewick again

By Bob Jolliffe 01425 616525

“I DIDN’T have the legs today,” admitted Totton racing cyclist Stephen Whitewick after he missed beating his own year-old course record in New Forest Cycling Club’s Round the Forest time trial, held in near-perfect conditions on Sunday.
Nonetheless, 51-year-old Whitewick (Contre la Montre) – who clocked 1-11-15 for the 32-mile New Milton-based circuit 12 months ago – still won in a very rapid 1-12-42 from nearest challenger Gary Dighton (Poole Whrs) who was a minute and seven seconds slower.
Third place went to Steve Walkling of VC St Raphael with 1-14-30 while his teammate Andy Rivett took fourth with 1-16-39.
Best of six New Forest CC competitors was John Heffernan in 10th with 1-18-58, just 19 seconds faster than clubmate Gary Lock in 11th.
First rider on the road was NFCC’s Stuart Peckham who took 20th with 1-23-44, just three days after improving his personal best 10 from 24-51 to 24-18.
Chris Hughes was 24th with 1-28-20, Rob Brinsdon 29th with 1-32-11 and Bob Jolliffe 31st with 1-46-55. Second claim member Martin Beale (VC St Raphael) was 16th with 1-21-03.
Lesley Walkling (VC St Raphael) took the women’s award with 1-27-49 after Bramshaw’s Julia Shaw was a non-starter following her win in the fourth round of the Rudy Project series promoted by Doncaster Wheelers the previous day.
Fresh from her sixth win in the National 10-mile championship six days previously, Shaw (Drag2Zero) cracked around the 13-mile course in 29min 54sec to beat London Dynamo’s Rebecca Slack by 2min 7sec.

Jenkinson topped in hot 100

Southern distance experts got their British Best All-Rounder campaigns an early boost in the Hounslow & District Wheelers’ 100-mile time trial at Bentley in North Hampshire on sunny Sunday .

Poole-based Adam Topham (High Wycombe CC) shrugged off the heat and roared around five laps of the A31-based course in a stunning  3-37-40 to beat Southampton’s Julian Jenkinson (Contre la Montre) into second spot.

Jenkinson, who won the national BBAR in 2010 and was second in the competition last year, was almost six minutes slower than Topham with 3-43-40.

Third place was taken by Jenkinson’s teammate, ace Ironman James Gilfillan with an excellent time of 3-47-30. With Marc Barfoot’s 4-50-20, Contre la Montre went on to take the team award.

Bournemouth Jubilee Wheeler Dave Pickering clocked a fine 4-08-01 while teammate Phil Evans finished with 4-39-15 to his credit.

Sotonia CC’s Stuart Martingale clocked 4-16-12 and Wessex RC veteran Fred Newton, 4-46-11.

Event organiser Trevor Gilbert said: “It could be described as very hot. The wind had an effect but it was not as bad as yesterday.”

He said Topham’s time was “the fastest ever recorded for our normal event, the only time it was beaten was in the Championship in 1997”.

“I think it was a brilliant ride. After the event, Adam was staggering rather than walking.”

Same place, same time for Gilfillan

Contre la Montre’s James Gilfillan clocked exactly the same time as seven days previously when he won the latest Bournemouth Arrow CC 10 at Ringwood in 21-57, beating BJW’s Ian Diaper into second place by 1-04.
Third place went to Primera’s Richard Horton with 23-07, while second claim NFCC member Martin Beale (VC St Raphael) was fourth with 23-25.
New Forest’s Stuart Peckham clocked 24-18 to improve his personal best 10-mile time by 33 seconds to take eighth.
Other times (BACC unless stated): Steve Groome (BJW) 23-29, John Marriner (BJW) 23-36, Keith Mahon 23-39, Kevin May 25-10, Pete Wilson 25-26, Rob Ellis (VC St Raphael/second claim NFCC) 25-27, Phil Millard 25-40, Howard Doe (NFCC) 25-47, Martin Shields 25-48, Tony Strickland 25-50, Rob Anderson 26-03, Richard Wyeth 26-21, Brian Garrard 26-21, David King 27-30, Paul Groome (BJW) 28-00, Paul Brian (BJW) 28-07, Martin Atkins 28-37, Ian Hayden 28-40, Sarah Barrett (Zoom Tri) 28-47, Simon Hannam (BJW) 29-28, Ian Taylor 29-49, Bob Jolliffe (NFCC) 30-13, Richard Page 30-30.

Chris improves

New Forest’s Chris Jolliffe improved his season’s best 10 to 26-19 in the Stowmarket & District CC event on Sunday. First place went to David McGaw (Cambridge CC) with 20-49.

Club news

Wessex Cyclo-cross 2019-20 and ride London report

It may seem a bit early to be talking about cyclocross but, to quote the organiser of the first race “it is only 32 sleeps to the first race of the season!” The New Forest Cycling Club is now affiliated to the Wessex Cyclocross League for the 2019/2020 season. This means that NFCC riders will […]


P164 15 mile TT

Ray Claridge won last night’s TT with a 36:04, a very good time that would likely have had his 3 minute man and second placed rider Stuart Peckham just in sight on the last rise to the finish. The evening had an unhelpful wind direction, but was warm and at least rain free. A further […]


News archive