The New Forest Cycling Club

Tie at the top in final 10 but Humm is champ

By club press secretary Bob Jolliffe
Contact him on 01425 616525 or at

A SEASON-long tussle at the top of New Forest CC’s 10-mile series climaxed in a tie between the leading contenders Colin Humm and Ben Boardman.
Last week’s result in the 10th and final event showed just how closely the two have been matched all year when the pair both finished with 23-53 on a difficult night with the headwind on the long leg from Bolton’s Bench at Lyndhurst to Leygreen near Beaulieu.
But it was Humm who took the championship with a full 90 points from his six counting events while Boardman scored 86.
The pair were beaten on the night by visiting riders Harry Bulstrode (Southampton Road Club) who took top honours with 23-05 from Team Feat’s Mark Darcy who was a mere one second faster than the Forest pair.
Fifth place overall went to second claim NFCC member Martin Beale (VC St Raphael) with 24-04, while New Forest’s Gary Lock was sixth with 24-42, which gave him fourth in Division One.
John Heffernan, who was third in the division, suffered a puncture and packed as did new women’s 25-mile record-holder Julia Shaw (Drag2Zero) and veteran David Wilcock.

Ben now aiming for a 20min 10
Boardman made up for any disappointment he might have suffered from dead-heating with Humm the following evening at Poole when he clocked another personal best 10, reducing it by 21 seconds to 21-32 for fourth place. “Next stop: into the 20s,” he said.
Winner of the Poole Wheelers’ test was Southampton Tri Club’s Tim Wallis with a sparkling 20-44.

Sky’s Dowsett defeats wind
Martin Beale and Forest veteran Terry Jefferies were slowed by the strong wind that affected all but the most powerful riders in the North Hants RC 25 at Bentley on Saturday. Beale clocked 58-39 and Jefferies 1-2-07. Fastest was Team Sky pro Alex Dowsett with a remarkable 47-28.

Other club 10 results (NFCC unless stated): Steve Freeman (Hardley Runners) 24-58, Stuart Grace (GA Cycles) 25-02, James Bannister 25-09, Peter Bolke (private trial) 25-23, Nick Williams 25-28, Howard Doe 25-29, Chris Hughes 25-35, Hugo Walters 25-48, Martyn Dymond 25-54, Andrew Hanley (Hardley Runners) 25-55, Terry Jefferies 26-02, Lee McCumsky (Primera) 26-14, Phil Underwood 26-27, Richard Rajski 26-34, Graham Jones 26-39, Jamie Pope 26-43, John Williams (private) 26-49, Morgan Williams 27-03, Nick Tattersall 27-33, David Wilson 27-39, Konnor Bracher-Walsh 27-40, David Docherty (RNRMCA) 27-49, Keith Bradfield 27-51, Paul Ticehurst (Primera) 28-03, Graham Taylor (private) 28-24, Stuart Peckham 28-28, Dave Bates (South Pennine RC) 28-44, Charlie Morgan (Primera) 28-47, Emily Lyons (Zappi’s) 29-08, Ryan Thomas (private) 29-17, Colin Waters 29-27, Chris Summers (Sotonia CC) 29-44, Chris Mills 30-05, Peter Weaver 30-14, Gavin Hackney (private) 30-53, Roger Bacon 30-54, Carolyn Weaver 34-09, Martin Balk (private) 35-02.

Ten series champs: Division Two: 1, Geri Robinson, 90pts; 2, Martyn Dymond, 86; 3, Phil Underwood, 79. Division Three: Konnor Bracher-Walsh, 90; 2, Chris Mills, 79; 3, Peter Weaver, 76. Women: 1, Carolyn Weaver, 30; 2, Donna Shaw, 20; 3, Ellen Cameron, 19. Juveniles: 1, Konnor Bracher-Walsh; 2, Hugo Walters.

Club news

Wessex Cyclo-cross 2019-20 and ride London report

It may seem a bit early to be talking about cyclocross but, to quote the organiser of the first race “it is only 32 sleeps to the first race of the season!” The New Forest Cycling Club is now affiliated to the Wessex Cyclocross League for the 2019/2020 season. This means that NFCC riders will […]


P164 15 mile TT

Ray Claridge won last night’s TT with a 36:04, a very good time that would likely have had his 3 minute man and second placed rider Stuart Peckham just in sight on the last rise to the finish. The evening had an unhelpful wind direction, but was warm and at least rain free. A further […]


News archive