The New Forest Cycling Club

Shaw wins more time trial gold

By Bob Jolliffe
THE UK’S top female time triallist, Bramshaw’s Julia Shaw, took her fifth consecutive national 25-mile title at Tattershall in Lincolnshire.
The gold medal, her sixth for time trialling’s “Blue Riband” distance, comes only a fortnight after she took her seventh 10-mile title, in East Anglia.
Shaw (www.drag2zero) clocked a quick 56min 18sec for Sunday’s 25-mile title race, beating Anna Turvey of Tyneside Vagabonds into the silver medal position by a full minute and 21 seconds.
Rebecca Slack, riding in Look Mum No Hands’ colours, took third with 58-18.
Surprise of the weekend was that the unbeatable Michael Hutchinson failed to take his seventh 25-mile crown in the men’s race.
The In Gear Quickvit Trainsharp Racing Team ace was beaten into the bronze medal slot by Team IG Sigma Sport’s Joe Perrett who clocked 49-21. Shaw’s teammate Matthew Bottrill took silver ten seconds in arrears and “Hutch” just beat the magic 30mph barrier by a slender two seconds.
Totton’s Stephen Whitewick (VeloRefined Aerosmiths) took 18th with 53-55.

Parker wins at Cadnam

CC Weymouth’s Greg Parker took top honours in Sotonia CC’s open 10 at Cadnam on Saturday with a time of 21-41.
VC St Raphael’s Simon Berogna claimed second with 22-09, Poole Wheelers’ super-veteran Terry Icke was third in 22-17 and GA Cycles’ Ray Claridge was fourth with 22-24.
Colin Yeates was best Sotonia rider in seventh place with 22-42.
Other Southampton area riders (Sotonia unless stated): Stephen Wood (Antelope RT) 23-17, Stuart Peckham (New Forest CC) 23-54, Jon Dudley 23-58, Philip Connell 24-20, Daniel Edwards 24-36, Jonathan Legg 24-57, Colin Crocker 26-32, Chris Summers 28-27, Martin Balk (New Forest CC) 29-05.

Peckham leads championship

Stuart Peckham is leading New Forest CC’s club championship table at the moment following a maximum three points in the recent 50 with a similar score in the club 30 last week.
His time of 1-13-52 was third overall behind Ray Claridge’s 1-11-59 and Sotonia CC’s Kevin King’s 1-12-03.
Fourth place and two points went to New Forest CC junior Ali Rogers with 1-14-30 while Andrew Hanley took the single remaining point with 1-16-29.
Others (New Forest CC unless stated): Geri Robinson 1-17-28, Graham Lenton 1-19-13, Martin Plumb (Veralum CC) 1-19-37, Keith Bradfield 1-20-50, Dam Mitchell 1-21-25, Gary Plumb 1-21-54, Rob Brinsdon and Ben Clifford tied on 1-23-17, Phil Underwood 1-23-47, Sam Aplin 1-23-58, Gemma Marshall (Soton Tri Club) 1-26-20, Phil Jones 1-26-27, Konnor Bracher-Walsh 1-27-05, Antony Moyle 1-28-26, Phil Shields 1-29-25, Alan Sharpen (Sotonia) 1-31-11, Peter Hawker 1-33-12, Chris Mills 1-38-53.

Bournemouth Jubilee Whrs 10: Stuart Peckham 23-40. Bournemouth Arrow CC 10: Howard Doe 25-41, Richard Baldwin 27-54, Martin Balk 29-35.

Club news

Wessex Cyclo-cross 2019-20 and ride London report

It may seem a bit early to be talking about cyclocross but, to quote the organiser of the first race “it is only 32 sleeps to the first race of the season!” The New Forest Cycling Club is now affiliated to the Wessex Cyclocross League for the 2019/2020 season. This means that NFCC riders will […]


P164 15 mile TT

Ray Claridge won last night’s TT with a 36:04, a very good time that would likely have had his 3 minute man and second placed rider Stuart Peckham just in sight on the last rise to the finish. The evening had an unhelpful wind direction, but was warm and at least rain free. A further […]


News archive