The New Forest Cycling Club

Old hands still in charge of top 10s

By Bob Jolliffe. Call 01425 616525 or email

BRAMSHAW’S Julia Shaw claimed her sixth consecutive national 10-mile time trial championship win at Sawtry in Cambridgeshire on Sunday morning.
Riding for Drag2Zero, the popular New Forest-based powerhouse who, like national cycling gem Chris Boardman hails originally from the Wirral, tore around the 10 miles in 22 minutes 27 seconds to beat her nearest challenger Claire Galloway (For Viored RT) by more than a minute-and-a-half.
Galloway’s 23-59 was two seconds too quick for London Dynamo’s Rebecca Slack who took bronze.
The amazing Michael Hutchinson (In Gear-Quickvit-Trainsharp RT) won the men’s national 10 championship for the ninth time on the same course in the afternoon, clocking 19-40 to beat Matthew Bottrill (Drag2Zero) by 19 seconds while Nicolas Hutchings (CS Grupetto) took bronze in 20-22.
Contre la Montre ace Stephen Whitewick from Totton shared 25th place with Hutchinson’s teammate Conall Yates (21-35).

Three out of three for Gilfillan

Contre la Montre’s James Gilfillan hit a purple patch last week, winning three time trials over three distances in four days.
World class Ironman Gilfillan started his rout on Thursday in Bournemouth Arrow’s evening 10, went on to take the Sotonia 25 on Saturday and rounded off with a top performance in the chilly Wessex Road Club 50 on Sunday.
Gilfillan won the 50 in a startlingly quick 1-49-59 from teammate Julian Jenkinson 1-51-22 and Poole Wheelers’ Gary Dighton 1-52-03.
Southampton University Road Club pair George Crammond and Tim Wallace won the tandem event in 1-54-12. Other Southampton times: Marc Barfoot (Contre la Montre) 2-15-15, Linda Connor (Soton Tri Club) 2-27-24.
Stuart Peckham became New Forest CC 50-mile champion when he finished his first test at the distance in an excellent 2-08-25.
Clubmate Chris Hughes, finished four minutes down with 2-12-31. He said: “Now I appreciate how tough a 50 TT is: You hurt in parts of your body that did not know existed.”
Club secretary Peter Weaver clocked 2-33-07, second claim New Forest member Stuart Grace (GA Cycles) finished with 2-13-44 while Bob Jolliffe packed at Bere Regis.

On Saturday Gilfillan romped around two-and-a-half laps of the Copythorne-based Sotonia CC circuit to win the club’s 25 in 53-52 from Hainault CC’s Russell Kober (54-40).
Bournemouth Jubilee Wheeler Dave Pickering was third with 56-23, Shirley-based GA Cycles’ boss Gary Allan took fourth in 57-18 from Sotonia’s Stuart Martingale with 58-06.

Two days earlier, Gilfillan won the weekly Bournemouth Arrow CC Thursday 10 at Ringwood, ripping around the roughly surfaced “rumble strip” in 21-57, 18 seconds quicker than Primera-Specialized’s Will Stephenson. Third went to the Arrow’s Phil Mosley in 22-27.
New Forest’s Stuart Peckham took eighth with 25-09, second claim member Rob Ellis (VC St Raphael) was 12th with 25-43, Howard Doe 14th with 26-05 and Bob Jolliffe 22nd with 30-38.
New Forest CC Sotonia 25 times: Nick Tattersall 1-10-11 and Martin Balk 1-20-13.

Birthday ride and barbecue

People who want to take part in the club’s Birthday ride on Sunday, June 17 should contact president Roger Bacon as soon as possible. He also wants to know how many should be catered for at the club barbecue which will take place in the clubroom grounds at Tiptoe Church Hall during the afternoon: an event not to be missed, whatever the weather (as we can eat indoors if it rains). Contact him asap on 01590 683265 or email him at

Stephenson retains title

Primera-Specialized rider Will Stephenson retained his Southern Division Junior title at Upavon, Wiltshire on Sunday.

The young Bournemouth-based all-rounder was away for the majority of the race with Andover Wheelers’ Mitch Webber, going clear on lap two chasing another Andover Whr Simon Healy who was riding in the supporting race.

After the catch, Healy and Webber worked together, but Stephenson attacked going through the feed zone and built up a lead of more than three minutes when he crossed the finish line.

Healy won the supporting race while 24-year-old Kimberly Ashton of Abergavenny RC took the women’s title from Adel Tyson-Bloor of VC St Raphael. Anna Fischer (Wilier/Live2Ride) was third and Bournemouth Arrow CC’s Ellie Gilham fourth.

Club news

Wessex Cyclo-cross 2019-20 and ride London report

It may seem a bit early to be talking about cyclocross but, to quote the organiser of the first race “it is only 32 sleeps to the first race of the season!” The New Forest Cycling Club is now affiliated to the Wessex Cyclocross League for the 2019/2020 season. This means that NFCC riders will […]


P164 15 mile TT

Ray Claridge won last night’s TT with a 36:04, a very good time that would likely have had his 3 minute man and second placed rider Stuart Peckham just in sight on the last rise to the finish. The evening had an unhelpful wind direction, but was warm and at least rain free. A further […]


News archive