The New Forest Cycling Club

Lock clocks 54

By Bob Jolliffe. Call him with YOUR news on 01425 616525 or contact him by email at

NEW Forest Cycling Club powerhouse Gary Lock’s super season continued unabated with a cracking 54-minute 25-miler at Poole followed by a 58 in the final club championship counting event on the slower Ringwood course.
Lock’s personal best 54min 57sec ride in the Poole Wheelers’ test earned him seventh place behind VC St Raphael’s Stephen Walkling (52-29), Poole’s own winning team of Gary Dighton, Terry Icke and Andy Buddle (52-52, 52-54 and 54-00), Revo Racing’s Tom Aliban (54-17) and Bournemouth Jubilee’s Nick Frewin (54-48).
Other excellent rides came from Lock’s teammates Stuart Peckham, who rattled off a personal best 59-20, Rob Brinsdon (1-03-22) and Phil Sparkes (1-03-51), while second claim New Forest member Stuart Grace (GA Cycles) clocked a fine 1-01-11.

VC St Raphael’s Bryce Dyer was fastest overall in New Forest CC’s club 25 south of Ringwood on Sunday in 58 minutes exactly, with Lock finishing 32 seconds in arrears to take three points which earned him three championship points to put him level at the top of the table with Ben Boardman.
Making a welcome return to racing, New Forest’s Nick O’Hara took third overall with 1-02-26, followed by second claim member Martin Beale (VC St Raphael) with 1-02-36, Peckham was fifth (1-02-51), James Bannister sixth (1-03-47), while Hugh Roper took first handicap award with 1-07-26 for seventh.
The event attracted six riders under the Come and Try It scheme. Justin Slater clocked 1-06-27, Simon Haithman 1-17-43, James Ward 1-19-29, Chris Shimman 1-20-55 and Holly Hewitt 1-25-38, while 13-year-old William Taylor did one lap in 45-33.
Other times (NFCC unless stated): Phil Underwood 1-09-29, Gary Plumb 1-09-43, Dan Mitchell 1-10-06, Joe Phillips 1-10-14, Peter Weaver 1-10-54, Donna Shaw 1-14-40, Eddie Toal (Bournemouth Jubilee Whlrs) 1-22-11. One lappers: Rob Brinsdon 35-22, Richard Rajski 35-37, Geoff Weller 41-23.

Rendall off to NZ

New Forest CC triathlete Tony Rendall will soon be heading out to New Zealand to take part in the Triathlon Age Group World Championships.
He has not only qualified for the Olympic distance event, but after finishing second in his age group in the Bristol Triathlon, had qualified for the World Sprint Finals as well.
“I was then lucky enough to be able to choose which event I wanted to do,” he said.
“I have opted to go with the Sprint in New Zealand as I’m still new to racing at this level and think that it may be my best chance of doing well.
“Hopefully this was the best choice, but it really is going to be an hour or so of flat out, on-the-limit, racing, if I want to finish at the sharp end.
“My training is going fairly well, although it’s tiring on the body, and I recently won the Bucklers Hard Sprint Triathlon at Beaulieu which I used as part of my build-up.
“It’s less than two months to go until I travel to NZ so hopefully everything keeps going according to plan.”

Yeates is Sotonia 10 Champ

Colin Yeates won Sotonia CC’s 10-mile championship on the King’s Somborne-Romsey road on Sunday in 23-05 from Stuart Martingale (23-28) and Gawain Young (24-02).
New Forest CC riders Mick Williams and Martin Balk clocked 27-10 and 30-26 respectively.

Wales was the place to be on Sunday

Multiple national time trial champion Michael Hutchinson set a new 25-mile competition record of 45-46 in the Port Talbot Wheelers’ event in South Wales on sunny Sunday, clipping eight seconds from Dave McCann’s 45-54.
Poole’s Adam Topham (High Wycombe CC) took a fine fifth place with 48-52.
Ringwood’s James Gilfillan (Contre la Montre), fresh from winning the British Time Trials Championship Masters A group the previous weekend, claimed eighth with 49-05 and his teammate, Totton’s Stephen Whitewick, who was second in the BTTC Masters E section, filled 13th slot with 49-55.

In North Wales the same morning, New Forest CC veteran Bob Jolliffe was one of those able to take advantage of near-perfect conditions in the VC Melyd 10, clocking a 15-year best of 26-36.
Four riders beat 30mph: Rhos-on-Sea CC’s Justin McIlveen and Gareth Bowyer took first and second with 19-48 and 19-49, while Wrekinsport’s Steve York and Sportscover-Altura RT’s Nigel Haigh were the other 30mph-ers with 19-56 and 19-57.

Conditions were somewhat more difficult in windy East Anglia on Saturday afternoon where Chris Jolliffe finished the Norwich ABC 10 in 26-42. Winner was Strada Sport’s Liam Gentry with 20-45.

Bramshaw’s Julia Shaw (Drag2Zero) took the silver medal in the Women’s race in the BTT Championship with 49-56 behind Olympic Women’s Team Pursuit reserve Wendy Houvenaghel’ s 48-55. Second claim New Forest CC rider Rob Ellis (VC St Raphael) finished the Masters C group with a time of 57-43 and Southampton’s Harry Bulstrode (Contre la Montre) was fifth in Masters A with 48-27.

Club news

Wessex Cyclo-cross 2019-20 and ride London report

It may seem a bit early to be talking about cyclocross but, to quote the organiser of the first race “it is only 32 sleeps to the first race of the season!” The New Forest Cycling Club is now affiliated to the Wessex Cyclocross League for the 2019/2020 season. This means that NFCC riders will […]


P164 15 mile TT

Ray Claridge won last night’s TT with a 36:04, a very good time that would likely have had his 3 minute man and second placed rider Stuart Peckham just in sight on the last rise to the finish. The evening had an unhelpful wind direction, but was warm and at least rain free. A further […]


News archive