The New Forest Cycling Club

Heffernan on track

By Eamonn Deane (who stood in for Bob Jolliffe while he was racing in South Africa)

JOHN Heffernan (New Forest CC) won the scratch race in the latest round of the Bournemouth track league.

Riding in the “B” group, Heffernan held off all challenges as he sprinted to victory. The New Forest rider also won the point’s race in the weekly league at the Ensbury Park venue. Portsmouth-based Gawain Bailey (Performance Cycles) leads the league overall with one round remaining.

Hoy Takes Criterium Win

Justin Hoy (Felt-Colbournes-Hargroves RT) won the first Bournemouth Twilight Criterium, sprinting to victory in the heart of the seaside town.

Hoy finished a good three lengths clear of Al Murison (Equipe CMI) & Joe Barry (Ride 24/7) after an hour of fast, cat and mouse racing. The 1km circuit took the riders through the town square, past the pier and seafront, up Bath Hill before the tight, race-deciding, left hander down to the finish in Westover Road.

The fast course called for little technique and a breakaway always seemed unlikely as the pace remained high.

Robert Ward (Felt-Colbournes-Hargroves) had a dig off the front as did James Smith (Spin-Rotor-Primal C-Originals) as the Felts, Pedal Heaven, Spin-Rotor & 24/7 teams started to control the race. The pace eased in the last two laps as the inevitable bunch sprint loomed, into the final corner, the only place to be was on the front and that’s just where Hoy was.

Bournemouth Council closed the town centre roads down on a busy Saturday night, their vision was rewarded with great weather and a bumper crowd. The event also included a twenty minute corporate race, a night Sky Ride & Night Glow cycle spectacular

Claridge in Forest win

Meanwhile against the clock, the sunshine burst through the clouds just in time for the start of New Forest Cycling Club’s seven-mile time trial around Norley Wood and East Boldre.

With the home side’s aces otherwise engaged, victory went to GA Cycles’ Ray Claridge, from Hythe, in a course personal best of 15min 34sec.

But New Forest CC’s Andrew Hanley, who said he is usually better at the longer distances, proved he is a force to be reckoned with over shorter tests by finishing in second place, exactly a minute behind Claridge.

Third went to Claridge’s teammate Richard Blake with 16-38, while second claim New Forest CC member Martin Beale (VC St Raphael) took fourth with 16-53. The Forest’s Dan Mitchell was next with 17-34 followed by club mates Rob Brinsden (17-45) and Richard Rajski (17-55).

Others (all NFCC): Gary Plumb 18-05, Phil Underwood 18-22, Jono Parker Davis 18-26, Chris Goddard 18-58, Phil Harris 18-59, Antony Moyle 19-15, Chris Mills 19-50, Peter Hawker 20-24, Peter and Carolyn Weaver (two-up team time trial) 20-54.

Tandem 24-hour

Simon Hall (Andover Wheelers) and Mary Corbett (Sotonia) had racked up 369.47 miles when time ran out in the national 24 hour championships in Cheshire. The tandem pair went through a “rough patch” after 18 hours but came through to take the title. Start Birnie (Willesden CC) won the solo race with an impressive, 518 miles.

Whitewick Sixth

On the Super-fast Liss course in Hampshire, Totton’s Steve Whitewick (Velo-Refined) had to settle for sixth place despite a 30mph plus ride of 19.59. Whitewick’s teammate Kevin Tye won the event with 19.33, backed up by James Gilfillan, 20.07, Velo-Refined took the team award. Other times included, Ben Boardman (NFCC) 21.09, Gary Allan (GA Cycles) 21.44, Dave England (Crabwood CC) 24.15.

Arrow 10

At Ringwood, Paralympic multi-medallist, Darren Kenny (ParaT) won the Bournemouth Arrow event. In training for the World road championships in Canada in August, Kenny clocked 22.46 for a clear win. New Forest’s Stuart Peckham grabbed third place with 23.44. Other New Forest times included, Martin Beale (second claim) 24.13, Howard Doe 25.19, Paul Shields, 27.53.

Club news

Wessex Cyclo-cross 2019-20 and ride London report

It may seem a bit early to be talking about cyclocross but, to quote the organiser of the first race “it is only 32 sleeps to the first race of the season!” The New Forest Cycling Club is now affiliated to the Wessex Cyclocross League for the 2019/2020 season. This means that NFCC riders will […]


P164 15 mile TT

Ray Claridge won last night’s TT with a 36:04, a very good time that would likely have had his 3 minute man and second placed rider Stuart Peckham just in sight on the last rise to the finish. The evening had an unhelpful wind direction, but was warm and at least rain free. A further […]


News archive