The New Forest Cycling Club

Good egg Lock lays foundations with a cracking Easter 10

By New Forest CC press secretary Bob Jolliffe
Contact him with YOUR news on 01425 616525 or email him at

NEW Forest Cycling Club powerhouse Gary Lock continued to lay the foundations of another good season when he took a cracking fourth place in the Bournemouth Arrow CC Good Friday 10-mile time trial at Lytchett Matravers.
Starting at number 10 on a bitingly cold morning determined Lock, from Lymington, passed the finish timekeeper with 22min 3sec on the clock.
Those by the chequered board had to wait another 14 minutes before anyone produced a faster time, and that was recorded by eventual winner Greg Parker of CC Weymouth, who clocked a remarkable 20-59.
Number 35, Poole Wheelers’ Paul Jones, took second place almost a minute in arrears with 21-53 while his clubmate, former national 25-mile competition record-holder Gary Dighton, filled third spot another seven seconds adrift with 22 minutes exactly just three seconds ahead of Lock.
Tom Alliban of 1st Chard Wheelers took fifth with 22-22 and Bournemouth Jubilee Wheeler Simon McLaughlin was a second slower in sixth.
New Forest CC’s Ben Boardman clocked 22-33 for ninth and Stuart Peckham was pleased to record his season’s best of 24-25.
Other Southampton area times: Glenn Longland (Antelope RT) 23-04, Gary Plumb (NFCC) 25-59, Colin Crocker (Sotonia CC) 26-45, Chris Summers (Sotonia CC) 29-34, Bob Jolliffe (NFCC) 29-47.

Allen and Jenkins take Forest two-up

GA Cycles’ Gary Allen riding with Adrian Jenkins won New Forest CC’s two-up team time trial over 10 miles south of Lyndhurst on Easter Sunday in 24min 47sec.
The bitter cold produced a crop of pre-war times on the relatively hilly and exposed Forest course.
Nevertheless, the conditions did not stop New Forest’s James Bannister from clocking 25-14 by himself after partner, teammate Sacha Ring, punctured and retired.
Yorkshire visitors Ewan and Leanne Farrow (Ilkley CC) took third place with 25-18, while fourth went to the two Stuarts – Peckham (NFCC) and Grace (GA Cycles) – riding as a composite team.
Others (NFCC) unless stated: Joe Phillips and Jono Parker 27-25, Chris Stevenson and Ben Martin (Fareham Whlrs) 28-25, Barry Wootten and Patrick Walters 28-36, Will Taylor and James Brearley (Come and Try It) 33-04, Martin Balk and Stewart Harrison (Andover Whlrs) 33-06.
A sprinkling of competitors rode solo trials. Come and Try It rider Tim Lewis was fastest overall with a sparkling 24-17 with another newcomer, Justin Slater, taking second solo with 26-04.
Others (NFCC) unless stated): Patrick Mintram (Army CU)26-36, Konnor Bracher-Walsh 26-55, Hugo Walters 27-06, Stewart Ward 27-20, Julian Sheppard 28-01, Howard Doe 28-18, Phil Underwood 29-25, Neil Stevenson 29-33, Mark Jefferies 30-52, Robin Kilmister (Come and Try It) 32-27, Chris Mills 32-35, Sarah Gailey (Come and Try It) 33-53, Ros Sawyer (Come and Try It) 34-07.

Ader wins at Liss from Whitewick

Sebastian Ader of A3 Cycle Racing Group won his club’s Good Friday 10 on the Petersfield Liss course in 20-17, beating Totton’s Stephen Whitewick, now riding for VeloRefined Aerosmiths, into second place by 14 seconds.
Sotonia CC’s Stuart Martingale was 23rd with 22-55, Poole Wheelers’ Darren Lewis was two places further back with 23-07, Gary Allen was 31st with 23-46 and second claim New Forest member Rob Ellis (VC St Raphael) was 47th with 25-16.

Club news

New Club Secretary

For those that couldn’t get to the AGM, there have been some committee changes. Minutes will be available soon, but I thought that I’d introduce you to Kelvin Pinchen; your new Club Secretary. As Stewart Ward stands down after a very successful tenure, here are a few words from Kelvin himself: I have been associated […]


Club Awards Lunch Report

The club lunch took place on Saturday 26th Jan. The event was put on to replace the more formal awards dinner, to make it cheaper and more accessible to everyone. It was timed to allow the Saturday ride to go ahead, Barry choosing a time and route to allow everyone to get back in time, […]


News archive