The New Forest Cycling Club

Comp record for Shaw

By Press Secretary Bob Jolliffe

Contact him with your results on 01425 616525 or by email at

BRAMSHAW racing cyclist Julia Shaw is well on course for a place in the World Championship time trial in Copenhagen after smashing Yvonne McGregor’s 15-year-old 25-mile national competition record by 1min 49se3cs in South Wales on Sunday.
Shaw (Drag2Zero), who only a few days earlier tied for second place in New Forest Cycling Club’s penultimate evening 10-mile of the season, reduced the record to 50-01, just a shade short of the magic 30mph mark.
She is now targeting the British Time Trial Championship in the South Midlands on September 4 where a top placing should reward her with a place on the World Championship squad.
Following her win on the Heads of the Valley course she said was pleased to get the record but it had been more important to beat the opposition, which included another possible World’s contender Wendy Houvenaghel, who she beat into second place by 17 seconds.
“It was really great to win it particularly as I did a ride two years ago that broke the record but was disallowed,” she said.
On that occasion, also on the South Wales course, she recorded 51-08, but a mistake with the starting order meant that while the result stood, it could not be ratified as a competition record.
Her time on Sunday knocked that ride into a cocked hat. And she reckons that if her timer had not conked out “it would have been nice to have sprinted and got those two seconds” that would have taken her under 50 minutes.

Jenkinson takes bronze in 12hr title

Another New Forest area rider, Utag Yamaha’s Julian Jenkinson, failed to take the 12 hour championship title for a second consecutive time on Sunday despite bettering his 292.49 miles that earned him the title in 2010.
Despite riding 296.41 miles on the Shropshire course, he was beaten into third place by Andy Bason (Team who took gold with 302.75 miles and Derek Parkinson (Cleveleys RC) with 298.97 miles.
But Bason’s ride was put in the shade by Jeff Jones of Chippenham & District Wheelers who also beat Andy Wilkinson’s competition record of 302.46 miles, but by a massive 3.23 miles in the CC Breckland 12 hour the same day.

On form Bryson wins NFCC 10

Sotonia CC’s Andy Bryson followed up a win in his own club’s open 10 with a fast 21-50 in the penultimate New Forest CC evening 10 of the season on the Kingston course south of Ringwood.
He beat Julia Shaw and former New Forest rider Tony Green (GA Cycles) who shared second place 44secs in arrears.
Tri UK’s Kevin King took fourth with 22-43 while just one second separated the top two New Forest CC riders Colin Humm and Ben Boardman with Humm coming out on top with 23-23.
The event saw several personal bests being clocked by NFCC riders. They included juvenile Konnor Bracher-Walsh who trimmed 26 seconds from his reducing it to 27-23, veteran Dave Wilcock who hacked 1-51 from his lowering it to 30-46 and Chris Hughes who trimmed off another 19secs with his time of 24-46.

Dymond on sparkling form

New Forest CC’s Martyn Dymond returned home from the A3CRG 25 near Petersfield with a season’s best 25 of 1-5-17 on Sunday as he builds up for another mud-plugging cyclo-cross season.
Clubmate Terry Jefferies was quicker with 1-00-51, but failed to better his best of the year while second claim NFCC member Martin Beale (VC St Raphael) returned a time of 57-21.
Winner was Beale’s teammate Stephen Walkling with 51-23.

Boardman third

New Forest CC’s Ben Boardman took third place in the Bournemouth Arrow 10 south of Ringwood with 23-31 behind Will Stephenson (22-54) and multi-gold winning Paralympian Darren Kenny (23-19).

24 hours on Exmoor

New Forest CC’s Jamie Pope teamed up with Ian May, son of NFCC veteran Mick May, Kevin Harrington, Mick Dowsett and Kerry Bergin to take second place in the Master’s category of the Bontrager 24/12 24 hour mountain bike race on Exmoor, taking turns to complete one hour 10-mile cross country laps.

Other results

Club 10 (NFCC unless stated): Gary Lock 24-03, James Bannister 24-40, Tom Butler 24-44, Rob Ellis (VC St Raphael) 24-48, Stuart Grace (GA Cycles) 24-51, Geri Robinson 25-12, Terry Jefferies 25-33, Hugo Griffin (Salisbury Tri Club) 25-50, Martyn Dymond 26-05, Nick Williams 26-06, Brian Garrard (Bournemouth Arrow CC) 26-10, Phil Underwood 26-11, Richard Rajski 26-16, Rod Langley (Bournemouth Jubilee Whrs) 26-17, Jamie Pope and David Wilson tied with 26-21, Keith Bradfield 26-51, Pete Norris 27-06, Nick Tattersall 27-11, Stuart Peckham (Come and Try It) 27-28, Matt Sutton 28-02, Peter Weaver 29-21, Roger Bacon 29-38, Bob Jolliffe 31-11, Carolyn Weaver 32-33. A3CRG 25: Bob Jolliffe 1-14-04.

Club news

Wessex Cyclo-cross 2019-20 and ride London report

It may seem a bit early to be talking about cyclocross but, to quote the organiser of the first race “it is only 32 sleeps to the first race of the season!” The New Forest Cycling Club is now affiliated to the Wessex Cyclocross League for the 2019/2020 season. This means that NFCC riders will […]


P164 15 mile TT

Ray Claridge won last night’s TT with a 36:04, a very good time that would likely have had his 3 minute man and second placed rider Stuart Peckham just in sight on the last rise to the finish. The evening had an unhelpful wind direction, but was warm and at least rain free. A further […]


News archive