The New Forest Cycling Club

Boardman (Ben, not Chris) sets new pb

By Press Secretary Bob Jolliffe

Contact him on 01425 616525 or at

NEW Forest Cycling Club’s Ben Boardman followed up a win in the club’s latest evening 10-miler with a new personal best the following evening at Poole.
Just seven seconds separated Boardman from second-placed Colin Humm in the club 10 on the Lyndhurst-Beaulieu Road course with Boardman clocking 23-39 in a nagging wind which only offered assistance in the final stretch from Ipley Cross to the finish.
Tom Butler was third New Forest CC finisher with 25-08. Fastest overall was GA Cycles’ Gary Allen with 22-35 from team-mate Simon Barnes (23-02) and second claim New Forest CC member Martin Beale (VC St Raphael) with 23-20.
On the Upton bypass 24 hours later Boardman became the first New Forest CC member to beat 22 minutes for 10 miles this season.
Boardman said: “With next to no wind, which helped, I somehow managed to pull out a 21-53 beating my early season PB by 25 seconds. James Gilfillan [Team Feat] still showed us all how it was done with an amazing 20-27.”
Boardman’s ride was good enough for fifth place overall in the Poole Wheelers’ club event.

Second in vets’champs for TJ while BJ wins tail light trophy
New Forest’s Terry Jefferies took second place on standard in the Wessex Veteran Time Trials Association Championship 10, run in conjunction with the Sotonia CC event on the Kings Somborne to Romsey road, with a “plus” for his age of 5min 47sec with an actual time of 24-58 which earned him seventh overall.
The previous day at Bentley he clocked his best 10 of the season, 23-45, for third on standard and 14th overall in the North Hants RC event. Both time trials were staged in windy conditions which took their toll on fast times, generally.
Winner at Bentley was Tejvan Pettinger (Sri Chinmoy Cycling Team) who finished with a rapid 20-13 from Sotonia CC’s Andy Bryson (21-00) and Evans Cycles’ Dominic Harrison (21-15).

On-form Bryson took his first win at Kings Somborne on a course that was a third of a mile overlength this – thespyexpert to ensure the safety of the timekeepers, with 22-05.
Bob Jolliffe clocked 30-49 to earn himself the Chalky White Memorial Trophy for “lantern rouge”. He was marginally quicker in the North Hants event with 29-07.

Other times (NFCC unless stated), club 10: Mark Darcy (Team Feat) 23-46, Stuart Grace (GA Cycles) 25-03, Geri Robinson 25-15, Howard Doe 25-22, Nick Williams 25-43, Terry Jefferies 26-08, Richard Mason 26-09, Phil Gates 26-14, Martyn Dymond 26-26, Phil Underwood 26-27, Dan Mitchell 26-32, Jamie Pope 26-55, Richard Rajski 27-00, Keith Bradfield 27-11, David Wilson 27-53, Rob Ellis and Konnor Bracher-Walsh tied with 28-04, Peter Norris 28-06, Joe Phillips 28-22, Mel Hazell 28-38, Colin Waters 28-48, Chris Summers (Sotonia) 29-28, Lee Imire (ride under the “Come and Try It” scheme) 29-39, Kathryn Doris (Come and Try It) 30-10, Peter Hawker 30-13, Chris Mills 30-36, Bob Jolliffe 30-52, David Wilcox 33-06.

Club news

Wessex Cyclo-cross 2019-20 and ride London report

It may seem a bit early to be talking about cyclocross but, to quote the organiser of the first race “it is only 32 sleeps to the first race of the season!” The New Forest Cycling Club is now affiliated to the Wessex Cyclocross League for the 2019/2020 season. This means that NFCC riders will […]


P164 15 mile TT

Ray Claridge won last night’s TT with a 36:04, a very good time that would likely have had his 3 minute man and second placed rider Stuart Peckham just in sight on the last rise to the finish. The evening had an unhelpful wind direction, but was warm and at least rain free. A further […]


News archive