The New Forest Cycling Club

Ben blows and just misses 50 record

By Bob Jolliffe 01425 616525

ON-FORM Ben Boardman got within 28 seconds of beating a long-standing New Forest Cycling Club 50-mile time trial record when he clocked a personal best 1-53-31 in the a3crg event near Petersfield on Bank Holiday Monday.
Boardman, who injured a knee which meant an enforced rest of more than a week, “blew” with 10 miles to go.
“That goes down as one of my least enjoyable time trials,” he said
“I felt pretty comfortable and was well on track for a sub 1-53 if not 52 all the way up to mile 40.
“That’s when I started seeing stars and far too much flashing for my liking. It’s fair to say I didn’t exactly enjoy fighting with fainting in the last 10 miles.
“My heart rate had dropped a good 15 beats and it was when I tried standing up to pedal at the turn point that I realised I was well and truly cooked.
“After passing my minute man Gary Allan at about mile 10 all I could think in those last 10 miles was to try and not let him come back past me.”
In fact GA Cycles’ Allan did pass Boardman and finished with 1-54-14 for 13th place.
“I clearly still have a few things to learn about pacing a 50,” said Boardman, who finished 11th from 68.
The club record still to beat is 1-53-08 set in 1996 by Tony Green, now a GA Cycles’ rider.
Boardman’s clubmate Stuart Peckham returned home to New Milton celebrating achieving his aim of beating two hours, just making his target by two seconds.
Ringwood’s James Gilfillan (VeloRefined/Aerosmiths) recorded a rapid 1-42-09 to win the event from Team Pedal Revolution’s Nik Bowdler (1-44-25) and Northover Veterans’ Jon Wynn (1-44-34).
Sotonia CC’s John Dudley finished with 2-02-08 to his credit and Crabwood CC veteran Dave England clocked a fine 2-08-32.

Gilfillan second in Round Six, while Shaw wins

Two days previously Gilfillan finished second in Round Six of the Cycling Time Trials series of circuit races near Reading, clocking 1-13-05 for two laps of the 15-mile course. Winner was Danny Axford(Arctic/SRAM RT) with 1-12-50.
Bramshaw’s Julia Shaw (drag2zero) won the one lap women’s race in 40-19 from Rebecca Slack (Look Mum No Hands) with 40-52.

Whitewick sets new course record

Gilfillan’s teammate, Totton’s Steve Whitewick powered around New Forest CC’s seven-mile Bull Hill-East End-East Boldre circuit in a course record 14min 57sec to win the club’s final evening event of the season.
But New Forest’s Nick O’Hara was not too far off Whitewick’s super-fast pace with 15-19 for second place.
GA Cycles’ Ray Claridge took third with 16-06 and New Forest’s John Heffernan, riding his first time trial of the year, was fourth with 16-10.
Steven Barnes (GAC) took fifth with 16-35 from Antelope RT’s Steve Woods’ 16-44 and New Forest CC’s Stuart Peckham with 16-52.
Others (NFCC unless stated): Adrian Jenkins (GA Cycles) 16-51, Matt Macdonald (Hargroves Cycles) 17-03, Adam Curtis (Primera Sport) 17-36, Rob Brinsdon 17-40, Tom Reid (juvenile) 17-45, Stewart Ward 17-52, Phil Underwood 18-31, Richard Parker 18-45, Konnor Bracher-Walsh 18-53, Tom Hobbs (Come and Try It) 19-25, Chris Shimman 19-37, Jason Brattle (Primera) 19-57, Chris Mills 19-47, Peter Hawker and Chris Jolliffe tied with 20-11, Alexandra Burlinson 21-01, Bob Jolliffe 21-36, Paula Earley (Come and Try It) 23-29.

Bulstrode/Bryson combo triumph

Peter Hansford Racing pair Harry Bulstrode and Andy Bryson set a new course record for Antelope RT’s The League International two-up team time trial championship course between Timsbury, Braishfield and Kings Somborne on Saturday.
Conditions were blowy, but the forecast rain held off.
As well as Bulstrode and Bryson, who clocked a magnificent 27-36 for the 20 hilly kilometres, another three teams beat 29 minutes: Southampton University RT’s Thomas Nixon and Tom Key (28-20), Primera Sport’s Ben and Lewis Keightley (28-38) and GA Cycles’ Gary Allan and Ray Claridge (28-59).
Steve Wood and Oli Emmans of Antelope RT took fifth with 29-38 while event organiser Glenn Longland and teammate Richard Blake were seventh with 30-49.
Other Southampton/Bournemouth area times: Mark Hardwick and Charlie Calvert (Bournemouth Arrow CC) 31-00, Richard Burch and Jon Legg (Sotonia) 31-43, Steve Moore (Antelope RT) and Alexander Geen (Bristol) 32-07, Colin Yeates and Dan Edwards (Sotonia) 32-30, Adrian Jenkins (GAC) and Claire Newman (Crabwood CC) 32-45, Jez Hart and Bill Ingham 33-16, Paul Richardson and Karl Gough (Zoom TC) 33-32, Robert Oliver and Peter Knipe (Fareham Whlrs) 34-20, Nick Williams (New Forest CC) and Vikki Williams (unattached) 40-36, Martin Balk and Bob Jolliffe (New Forest CC) 43-10, Barrington Day and Phil Morris (Fareham Whlrs) 47-42.

Club news

Wessex Cyclo-cross 2019-20 and ride London report

It may seem a bit early to be talking about cyclocross but, to quote the organiser of the first race “it is only 32 sleeps to the first race of the season!” The New Forest Cycling Club is now affiliated to the Wessex Cyclocross League for the 2019/2020 season. This means that NFCC riders will […]


P164 15 mile TT

Ray Claridge won last night’s TT with a 36:04, a very good time that would likely have had his 3 minute man and second placed rider Stuart Peckham just in sight on the last rise to the finish. The evening had an unhelpful wind direction, but was warm and at least rain free. A further […]


News archive