The New Forest Cycling Club

50 victory a Shaw thing

By Bob Jolliffe
Contact him on 01425 616525 or email your results asap to him at

THE New Forest’s multi-women’s national time trial champion Julia Shaw sped to her seventh victory in the 50-mile title race at Bentley in North Hampshire on Saturday.
Shaw, who lives in Bramshaw, clocked 1-51-42 to take her sixth consecutive gold award in the championship race, held this year on the Bentley course in North Hampshire.
The Drag2Zero rider was more than seven minutes faster than her nearest challenger Rebecca Slack (The Altitude Centre) who claimed silver with 1-58-01. Jane Kilmartin of Cult Racing took the bronze medal , 25 seconds in arrears of Slack.
Shaw used New Forest CC’s 10-miler on the Lyndhurst/Leygreen/Ipley Cross loop as training for the 50, winning in 23 minutes exactly.

JF leads NFCC to victory over CCC

Up-and-coming New Forest CC member John Heffernan improved his personal best by a few seconds, on what was judged to be a difficult evening, to 23-29 for second place overall and take 15 points in the season-long club competition.
Colin Humm, fifth overall, was second New Forest rider with 23-53.
Backed by Ben Boardman (24-08), James Bannister (25-08), Geri Robinson (25-28) and Tom Butler (25-29), Heffernan and Humm led New Forest CC to victory over Crabwood CC, which could not field a full six riders, in the annual inter-club competition.
Despite the lack of numbers, Crabwood’s team put up a good fight. Ray Claridge was quickest with 24-11, followed by Dave England (25-28), Pat Lafford (27-48) and Claire Newman (29-37).
Current New Forest CC club champion and second claim member Martin Beale (VC St Raphael) clocked a rapid 22-38 in the Poole Wheelers’ 10 on the blowy Upton bypass on Sunday. New Forest’s Bob Jolliffe won the award for best improvement with 28-29.
Former New Forest CC member Jon Dibben (Hargroves Cycles) was fastest in the Bournemouth Arrow CC 10 at Ringwood with 22-03, while current Forest member Howard Doe was sixth with 25-32.
Other club 10 times (NFCC unless stated): Harry Bulstrode (Southampton RC) 23-32, Simon Barnes (GA Cycles) 23-48, Andy Rivett (VC St Raphael) 24-01, Mark D’Arcy (Team Feat) 24-16, Paul Bailey (Manchester Whrs) 24-40, Gary Lock 25-46, Nick Williams 26-01, Stuart Grace (GA Cycles) 26-03, Chris Hughes 26-06, Steve Roberts 26-07, Terry Jefferies 26-12, Ian Banks (Southampton Tri Club 26-31, Richard Mason 26-32, Martyn Dymond 26-43, Phil Underwood 26-45, Stephen Dauncey (Tri Team Wessex) 27-04, Jamie Pope 27-22, Hugh Roper 27-25, Pete Norris and Richard Rajski tied with 27-54, Dan Mitchell 27-59, Graham Jones 28-06, Dave Wilson 28-11, Tim Jenkins (Fareham Whrs) 28-29, Jim Firth 28-34, Nick Tattersall 28-42, Konnor Bracher-Walsh 29-00, Chris Mills 29-08, Colin Walters 29-31, Peter Weaver 29-45, Chris Summers (Sotonia CC) 30-06, Matt Sutton 30-25, Donna Shaw 31-27, Bob Jolliffe 31-46, Dave Wilcox 32-05.

77th birthday party

About 20 New Forest CC members took part in the club’s 77th Birthday Ride on Sunday, starting from the War Memorial at Sway and ending with tea and cakes provided by Margaret Gannaway at the clubroom at Tiptoe Church Hall.

Led by President Roger Bacon the 65-mile course took in Shirley Holms, Sowley, Beaulieu, Calshot, Inchmery, Exbury, Lyndhurst, Linwood, climbed Braggers Wood Hill, turned left for Burley and then right to Wootton and the welcome refreshments.

Club news

Geoff Smith

I’ve had the following information from Bob Jolliffe, many of the long term members or older riders will remember Geoff racing as well as being involved in club organisation. Former long-term New Forest CC secretary Geoff Smith is in Southampton General Hospital with a broken leg after falling from his bike on the A337 at […]


Weekend Round-up 28th Oct – Updated!!

Update from Bob Jolliffe with his weekend activities – New Forest CC’s 66-year-old Bob Jolliffe had a brilliant social weekend at the League of Veteran Racing Cyclists’ Track Championships at the Derby Arena Velodrome, even if his attempts at racing were lacklustre. Despite only finishing in one event of two entered, the Group F (age […]


News archive